Information Collection and Use
You must provide your mobile phone number to create a Toki account. You may provide us the phone numbers in your mobile address book on a regular basis, including those of both the users of our Services and your other contacts. You must confirm that you are authorized to provide us such numbers. You may also add other information to your account, such as a profile name, profile picture.
To help you organize how you communicate with others, we may suggest frequently contacted list of your contacts for you. Also, we keep track of users who are connected, interacted with you, so that you will be able to keep in touch even the contact gets deleted. We refer to those contacts as “Connections”.
Shared information refers to an information about you or relating to you that is voluntarily shared by you on Toki. Shared Information may include postings that you make on Toki (including your public profile, stories, ratings and reviews with photos).
We do not retain your messages in the ordinary course of providing our Services to you. Once your messages (including your chats, photos, videos, voice messages, files, and share location information) are delivered, they are deleted from our servers. Your messages are stored on your own device. If a message cannot be delivered immediately (for example, if you are offline), we may keep it on our servers for up to 90 days as we try to deliver it. If a message is still undelivered after 90 days, we delete it. To improve performance and deliver media messages more efficiently, such as when many people are sharing a popular photo or video, we may retain that content on our servers for a longer period of time. We also offer end-to-end encryption for our Services. End-to-end encryption means that your messages are encrypted to protect against us and third parties from reading them.
You may provide us with information related to your use of our Services, including copies of your messages, and how to contact you so we can provide you customer support. For example, you may send us an email with information relating to our app performance or other issues.
• Google Play Services
• Firebase Analytics
• Firebase Crashlytics
We may employ third-party companies and individuals due to the following reasons:
• To facilitate our Service;
• To provide the Service on our behalf;
• To perform Service-related services; or
• To assist us in analyzing how our Service is used.
In addition, we provide seamless sign-in service that will authenticate your identity and provide you the option to share certain Personal Information with third-party services for account registration and login purposes, such as your name and phone number. You will be notified to confirm your consent in such scenarios.
We want to inform you that whenever you use our Service, in a case of an error in the app we collect data and information (through third party products) on your phone called Log Data. This Log Data may include information such as your device Internet Protocol (“IP”) address, device name, operating system version, the configuration of the app when utilizing our Service, the time and date of your use of the Service, and other statistics.
Cookies are files with a small amount of data that are commonly used as anonymous unique identifiers. These are sent to your browser from the websites that you visit and are stored on your device’s internal memory.
This Service does not use these “cookies” explicitly. However, the app may use third party code and libraries that use “cookies” to collect information and improve their services. You have the option to either accept or refuse these cookies and know when a cookie is being sent to your device. If you choose to refuse our cookies, you may not be able to use some portions of this Service.
If you pay for our Services, we may receive information and confirmations, such as payment receipts, including from app stores or other third parties processing your payment. Credit card information is collected and the card information verified via a third-party payment processing service. This information is not stored or transferred through Toki’s servers.
Device and Connection Information
We collect device-specific information when you install, access, or use our Services. This includes information such as hardware model, operating system information, browser information, IP address, mobile network information including phone number, and device identifiers. We collect device location information if you use our location features, such as when you choose to share your location with your contacts, view locations nearby or those others have shared with you, and the like, and for diagnostics and troubleshooting purposes such as if you are having trouble with our app’s location features.
We collect information about your online and status message changes on our Services, such as whether you are online (your “online status”), when you last used our Services (your “last seen status”), and when you last updated your status message.
Managing your information
Toki enables certain information to be shared publicly with your Toki contacts and other users of Toki. At any time, you can hide your profile from the public search by unchecking “allow search by a display name” in your account settings. This means that other users of Toki will not be able to find you through a display name. You can configure the privacy of your profile’s “about” field, profile picture, and stories from the privacy settings with options for public, connections only, and hide from a specific list of people. Moreover, you can manage your privacy further by using our ignore, mute or hide story, and block features.
You can manage status information by turning off your active status and read receipts from the settings. Please note that by turning off your active status, you will not be able to see other people’s active status as well. Read receipts configuration is not applicable for group chats.
Shared Information will remain publicly-available for so long as you or a user that has shared such information retains it. Even after you delete Shared Information, it may still be separately cached, copied, or stored by, or remain public through, other users or third parties who are not affiliated with and not controlled by us.
Changing Your Mobile Phone Number, Profile Name and Picture, and About
You must change your mobile phone number using our in-app change number feature and transfer your account to your new mobile phone number. You can also change your profile name, profile picture, and about at any time.
Deleting Your Toki Account
You may delete your Toki account at any time (including if you want to revoke your consent to our use of your information) using our in-app delete my account feature. When you delete your Toki account, your undelivered messages are deleted from our servers as well as any of your other information we no longer need to operate and provide our Services. Be mindful that if you only delete our Services from your device without using our in-app delete my account feature, your information may be stored with us for a longer period. Please remember that when you delete your account, it does not affect the information other users have relating to you, such as their copy of the messages you sent them.
We value your trust in providing us your Personal Information, thus we are striving to use commercially acceptable means of protecting it. But remember that no method of transmission over the internet, or method of electronic storage is 100% secure and reliable, and we cannot guarantee its absolute security.
Links to Other Sites
These Services do not address anyone under the age of 14. We do not knowingly collect personally identifiable information from children under 14. In the case we discover that a child under 14 has provided us with personal information, we immediately delete this from our servers. If you are a parent or guardian and you are aware that your child has provided us with personal information, please contact us so that we will be able to do necessary actions.